Journal of the Korean Physical Society

, Volume 74, Issue 1, pp 78–81 | Cite as

Dielectric and Ferroelectric Properties of P(VDF-TrFE) Films with Different Polar Solvents

  • Dae Sol Kong
  • Tae Kwon Lee
  • Young Joon Ko
  • Jong Hoon JungEmail author
Brief Reports


We investigated the structural, dielectric, and ferroelectric properties of poly(vinylidenefluorideco-trifluoroethylene) [P(VDF-TrFE)] films that were grown using dimethylformamide (DMF) and tetrahydrofuran (THF) polar solvents. The DMF solvent has a large dipole moment with a long bond length and evaporates slowly while the THF solvent has a small dipole moment with a short bond length and evaporates rapidly. Because of these differences, a thin film with a rough surface occurs when using DMF while a thick film with a smooth surface is formed when using THF. Compared to DMF solvent, the ferroelectric polarization is not well saturated and the dielectric constant is quite low for the THF solvent, which is possibly due to the residual paraelectric defects in the P(VDF-TrFE) films. For both solvents, the polarization switching can be explained by using the Kolmogorov-Avrami-Ishibashi (KAI) model with similar switching times. Both solvents enable the P(VDF-TrFE) films to have good retention and fatigue resistance for ferroelectric polarization.


Polar solvents P(VDF-TrFE) Ferroelectric switching Retention Fatigue resistance 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    T. Furukawa, Phase Transit. 18, 143 (1989).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    K. Tashiro and M. Kobayashi, Polymer 27, 667 (1986).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    F. J. B. Calleja, A. G. Arche, T. A. Ezquerra, C. Santa Cruz, F. Batallán, B. Frick and E. López Cabarcos, Adv. Polym. Sci. 108, 1 (1993).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    Z. Hu, M. Tian, B. Nysten and A. M. Jonas, Nat. Mater. 8, 62 (2009).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    Z. Y. Cheng, V. Bharti, T. B. Xu, H. Xu, T. Mai and Q. M. Zhang, Sens. Actuators A 90, 138 (2001).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    J-H. Lee, H-J. Yoon, T. Y. Kim, M. K. Gupta, J. H. Lee, W. Seung, H. Ryu and S-W. Kim, Adv. Funct. Mater. 25, 3203 (2015).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    R. C. G. Naber, P. W. M. Blom, A. W. Marsman and D. M. de Leeuw, Appl. Phys. Lett. 85, 2032 (2004).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    Q. M. Zhang, V. Bharti and X. Zhao, Science 280, 2101 (1998).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    Q. M. Zhang, H. F. Li, M. Poh, F. Xia, Z. Y. Cheng, H. Xu and C. Huang, Nature 419, 284 (2002).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    H. J. Lee, J. Kim, O. Kwon, H. J. Lee, J. H. Kwak, J. M. Kim, S. S. Lee, Y. Kim, D. Y. Kim and J. Y. Jo, Appl. Phys. Lett. 107, 262902 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    J. W. Kim, T. K. Lee, J. H. Jung, S. Shin, B. W. Lee and J-H. Ko, J. Korean Phys. Soc. 69, 1724 (2016).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    T. Sekine, R. Sugano, T. Tashiro, J. Sato, Y. Takeda, H. Matsui, D. Kumaki, F. D. Dos Santos, A. Miyabo and S. Tokito, Sci. Rep. 8, 4442 (2018).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. [13]
    J. Kim, J. H. Lee, H. Ryu, J-H. Lee, U. Khan, H. Kim, S. S. Kwak and S-W. Kim, Adv. Funct. Mater. 27, 1700702 (2017).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    M. Yoo, C. W. Frank, S. Mori and S. Yamaguchi, Chem. Mater. 16, 1945 (2004).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    P. Martins, A. C. Lopes and S. Lanceros-Mendez, Prog. Poly. Sci. 39, 683 (2014).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    W. J. Hu, D. M. Juo, L. You, J. Wang, Y. C. Chen, Y. H. Chu and T. Wu, Sci. Rep. 4, 4772 (2014).CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    D. Zhao, L. Katsouras, K. Asadi, P. W. M. Blom and D. M. de Leeuw, Phys. Rev. B. 92, 214115 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. [18]
    D. Mao, I. Mejia, H. Stiegler, B. E. Gnade and M. A. Quevedo-Lopeza, J. Appl. Phys. 108, 094102 (2010).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. [19]
    W. J. Merz, Phys. Rev. 95, 690 (1954).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. [20]
    M. T. Ghoneim and M. M. Hussain, Appl. Phys. Lett. 107, 052904 (2015).ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© The Korean Physical Society 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Dae Sol Kong
    • 1
  • Tae Kwon Lee
    • 1
  • Young Joon Ko
    • 1
  • Jong Hoon Jung
    • 1
    Email author
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsInha UniversityIncheonKorea

Personalised recommendations