Investigation of a 5 kJ conical Z-pinch discharge

  • Mohamed E. Abdel-kader
  • Mohamed A. Abd Al-Halim
  • Azza M. Shagar
  • Ali H. Saudy
Regular Article


A conical 5 kJ Z-pinch experiment with 35 μs discharge time was constructed and operated. Preliminary results showed that the total circuit parameters are 287 nH inductance and 13 mΩ total resistance. The cone plasma inductance has its maximum value at the pinch. It has been determined that the pinching time is inversely proportional to the deposited energy. Moreover, a calculated delay time of about 2.1 μs is required for the pinch to occur and the calculated sheath velocity ranges between 1 and 11.5 cm/μs. Erosion of the pin electrode could potentially explain the difference between the mass of helium gas inside the cone and the calculated swept mass. The main product of the ionization process is a singly-ionized helium atom.


Plasma Physics 


  1. 1.
    M.G. Haines, Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 53, 093001 (2011) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    M.G. Haines, S.V. Lebedev, J.P. Chittenden, F.N. Beg, S.N. Bland, A.E. Dangor, Phys. Plasmas 7, 1672 (2000) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    D.G. Fearn, E.R. Wooding, Br. J. Appl. Phys. 18, 213 (1967) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    D.J. Ampleford, S.V. Lebedev, S.N. Bland, S.C. Bott, J.P. Chittenden, C.A. Jennings, V.L. Kantsyrev, A.S. Safronova, V.V. Ivanov, D.A. Fedin, P.J. Laca, M.F. Yilmaz, V. Nalajala, I. Shrestha, K. Williamson, G. Osborne, A. Haboub, A. Ciardi, Phys. Plasmas 14, 102704 (2007) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    D. Martinez, R. Presura, S. Wright, C. Plechaty, S. Neff, L. Wanex, D.J. Ampleford, Astrophys. Space Sci. 322, 205 (2009) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    R.A. Vesey, M.C. Herrmann, R.W. Lemke, M.P. Desjarlais, M.E. Cuneo, W.A. Stygar, G.R. Bennett, R.B. Campbell, P.J. Christenson, T.A. Mehlhorn, J.L. Porter, S.A. Slutz, Phys. Plasmas 14, 056302 (2007) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    M.K. Matzen, Phys. Plasmas 4, 1519 (1997) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    M.E. Cuneo, R.A. Vesey, J.L. Porter, G.A. Chandler, D.L. Fehl, T.L. Gilliland, D.L. Hanson, J.S. McGurn, P.G. Reynolds, L.E. Ruggles, H. Seamen, R.B. Spielman, K.W. Struve, W.A. Stygar, W.W. Simpson, J.A. Torres, D.F. Wenger, J.H. Hammer, P.W. Rambo, D.L. Peterson, G.C. Idzorek, Phys. Plasmas 8, 2257 (2001) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    M.G. Haines, S.V. Lebedev, J.P. Chittenden, F.N. Beg, S. Bland, A.E. Dangor, in 28th EPS Conf. Contr. Fus. and Plasma Phys., Funchal, 18-22 June 2001, Vol. 25A, p. 2049 Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    Y. Sakai, T. Komatsu, Y. Xiao, I. Song, M. Watanabe, A. Okino, E. Hotta, in ISDEIV 6th Int. Symp. on “Discharges and Electrical Insulation in Vacuum”, 2006, Vol. 2, p. 662 Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    M. Emami, Laser Phys. 17, 18 (2007) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    H.U. Rahman, F.J. Wessel, N. Rostoker, P. Ney, J. Plasma Phys. 75, 749 (2009) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    T.E. Markusi, K.A. Polziny, J.Z. Levinez, C.A. McLeaveyx, E.Y. Choueiri, AIAA J. 17, 3257 (2000) Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    Th.E. Markusic, K.A. Polzin, E.Y. Choueiri, M. Keidar, I.D. Boyd, N. Lepsetz, J. Propuls. Power 21, 392 (2005) CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    M. Keidar, I.D. Boyd, N. Lepsetz, Th.E. Markusic, K.A. Polzin, E.Y. Choueiri, in 37th AIAA/ASME/SAE/ASEE Joint Propul. Conf., Salt Lake City, UT, July 8-11, 2001, p. 3898 Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    C.L. Wadhwa, High Voltage Engineering (New Age International (P) Ltd., New Delhi, 2007) Google Scholar
  17. 17.
    R.A. Serway, J.W. Jewett, Physics for Scientists and Engineers with Modern Physics, 8th edn. (Brooks/Cole, Belmont, 2010) Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    H.A. El-Gamal, M.A. Hassouba, H.A. El-Tayeb, M. Abdul-Moname, Fizika A 13, 23 (2004) ADSGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    H.A. El-Gamal, H.A. El-Tayeb, M.A. Hassouba, M. Abdul-Moname, Plasma Devices and Operations 14, 91 (2006) CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    H. Ghomi, Sh. Rostami, H. Latifi, in 28th ICPIG, Prague, July 15-20, 2007 Google Scholar
  21. 21.
    M.E. Abdel-kader, M.A. Abd Al-Halim, A.M. Shagar, H.A. Eltayeb, H.A. Algamal, A.H. Saudy, J. Fusion Energy 33, 53 (2014) CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  22. 22.
    A. Donges, G. Herziger, H. Krompholz, F. Ruhl, K. Schonbach, Phys. Lett. A 76, 391 (1980) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  23. 23.
    M. Mathuthu, T.G. Zengeni, A.V. Gholap, IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. 25, 1382 (1997) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    H. Schmidt, Nukleonika 46, 15 (2001) Google Scholar
  25. 25.
    R.P. McWhirter, in Plasma Diagnostics Techniques, edited by R.H. Huddlestone, S.L. Leonard (Academic Press, New York, 1965) Google Scholar
  26. 26.
    M. Akel, Sh. Al-Hawat, S.H. Saw, S. Lee, J. Fusion Energy 29, 223 (2010) ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  27. 27.
    S. Lee, Radiative Dense Plasma Focus Computation Package (2012): RADPF and

Copyright information

© EDP Sciences, SIF, Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2014

Authors and Affiliations

  • Mohamed E. Abdel-kader
    • 1
  • Mohamed A. Abd Al-Halim
    • 2
  • Azza M. Shagar
    • 1
  • Ali H. Saudy
    • 3
  1. 1.Plasma and Nuclear Fusion DepartmentAbu ZaabalEgypt
  2. 2.Physics Department, Faculty of Science, Banha UniversityBenhaEgypt
  3. 3.Physics Department, Faculty of Science, Al-Azhar UniversityCairoEgypt

Personalised recommendations