Saturation of Raman scattering in nonlinear regime

  • Sara Sadat Ghaffari-Oskooei
  • Farzin Mojtaba AghamirEmail author
Regular Article


Saturation of Raman scattering of laser pulses in plasma, which is expected for hohlraum targets in ICF, is investigated. Trapping and Langmuir decay instability are two major candidates for saturation of Raman scattering in nonlinear regime. Coupled equations of plasma and scattered waves are derived and solved analytically in nonlinear regime where the effect of Landau damping and nonlinear frequency shift is considered. The solution leads to derivation of scattered waves growth and their reflectivity. Plots of reflectivity of scattered waves under various laser beam and plasma conditions are presented. The effects of plasma temperature and its density, as well as, laser frequency, its intensity and pulse duration on reflectivity are discussed.

Graphical abstract


Plasma Physics 


  1. 1.
    W.L. Kruer, The Physics of Laser Plasma Interactions (Addison-Wesley, Boston, MA, 1988)Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    R.P. Drake, E.A. Williams, P.E. Young, K. Estabrook, W.L. Kruer, H.A. Baldis, T.W. Johnston, Phys. Rev. Lett. 60, 1018 (1988)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    D.W. Forslund, J.M. Kindel, E.L. Lindman, Phys. Rev. Lett. 30, 739 (1973)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    R.K. Kirkwood, J.D. Moody, J. Kline, E. Dewald, S. Glenzer, L. Divol, P. Michel, D. Hinkel, R. Berger, E. Williams, J. Milovich, L. Yin, H. Rose, B. MacGowan, O. Landen, M. Rosen, J. Lindl, Plasma Phys. Controlled Fusion 55, 103001 (2013)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    B.J. MacGowan, B.B. Afeyan, C.A. Back, R.L. Berger, G. Bonnaud, M. Casanova, B.I. Cohen, D.E. Desenne, D.F. DuBois, A.G. Dulieu, K.G. Estabrook, J.C. Fernandez, S.H. Glenzer, D.E. Hinkel, T.B. Kaiser, D.H. Kalantar, R.L. Kauffman, R.K. Kirkwood, W.L. Kruer, A.B. Langdon, B.F. Lasinski, D.S. Montgomery, J.D. Moody, D.H. Munro, L.V. Powers, H.A. Rose, C. Rousseaux, R.E. Turner, B.H. Wilde, S.C. Wilks, E.A. Williams, Phys. Plasmas 3, 2029 (1996)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    N.E. Andreev, V.I. Krisanov, L.M. Gorbunov, Phys. Plasmas 2, 2573 (1995)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    P. Sprangle, C.M. Tang, E. Esarey, IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. PS-15, 145 (1987)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    H. Lin, L. Ming Chen, J.C. Kieffer, Phys. Rev. E 65, 036414 (2002)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    K. Estabrook, W.L. Kruer, Phys. Fluids 26, 1892 (1983)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    E. Esarey, P. Sprangle, J. Krall, A. Ting, IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. 24, 252 (1996)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    J.L. Kline, D.S. Montgomery, L. Yin, D.F. DuBois, B.J. Albright, B. Bezzerides, J.A. Cobble, E.S. Dodd, D.F. DuBois, J.C. Fernández, R.P. Johnson, J.M. Kindel, H.A. Rose, H.X. Vu, W. Daughton, Phys. Plasmas 13, 055906 (2006)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    G.J. Morales, T.M. O’Neil, Phys. Rev. Lett. 28, 417 (1972)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. 13.
    E.A. Williams, B.I. Cohen, L. Divol, M.R. Dorr, J.A. Hittinger, D.E. Hinkel, A.B. Langdon, R.K. Kirkwood, D.H. Froula, S.H. Glenzer, Phys. Plasmas 11, 231 (2004)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    T. O’neil, Phys. Fluids 8, 2255 (1965)ADSMathSciNetCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. 15.
    M.V. Medvedev, P.H. Diamond, M.N. Rosenbluth, V.I. Shevchenko, Phys. Rev. Lett. 81, 5824 (1998)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    G. Brodin, Phys. Rev. Lett. 78, 1263 (1997)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. 17.
    M. Brunetti, Phys. Rev. E 62, 4109 (2000)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. 18.
    H.X. Vu, D.F. DuBois, B. Bezzerides, Phys. Plasmas 9, 1745 (2002)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    L. Divol, R.L. Berger, B.I. Cohen, E.A. Williams, A.B. Langdon, B.F. Lasinski, D.H. Froula, S.H. Glenzer, Phys. Plasmas 10, 1822 (2003)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    N.A. Yampolsky, N.J. Fisch, Phys. Plasmas 16, 072104 (2009)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    P.E. Masson-Laborde, W. Rozmus, Z. Peng, D. Pesme, S. Hüller, M. Casanova, V.Y. Bychenkov, T. Chapman, P. Loiseau, Phys. Plasmas 17, 092704 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  22. 22.
    D. Bénisti, D.J. Strozzi, L. Gremille, Phys. Plasmas 17, 102311 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  23. 23.
    T. Kolber, W. Rozmus, V.T. Tikhonchuk, Phys. Plasmas 2, 256 (1995)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    J.L. Kline, D.S. Montgomery, L. Yin, D.F. DuBois, B.J. Albright, B. Bezzerides, J.A. Cobble, E.S. Dodd, D.F. DuBois, J.C. Fernández, R.P. Johnson, Phys. Plasmas 13, 055906 (2006)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© EDP Sciences / Società Italiana di Fisica / Springer-Verlag GmbH Germany, part of Springer Nature 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Sara Sadat Ghaffari-Oskooei
    • 1
  • Farzin Mojtaba Aghamir
    • 1
    Email author
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsUniversity of TehranTehranIran

Personalised recommendations