Time evolution of the fuel areal density and electronic temperature provided by secondary nuclear fusion reactions

  • 31 Accesses


Primary and secondary nuclear fusion reaction yields in a spherical and uniform Deuterium-Deuterium fuel plasma have been calculated via Monte-Carlo simulations. An iterative procedure has been used to correlate the fuel areal density and temperature to the yields. It is shown that, once is measured the time-evolution of the reaction yields for an imploding capsule, the method provides the areal density, electronic temperature, density, and radius of the fuel as a function of time.

Graphical abstract

This is a preview of subscription content, log in to check access.

Access options

Buy single article

Instant unlimited access to the full article PDF.

US$ 39.95

Price includes VAT for USA

Subscribe to journal

Immediate online access to all issues from 2019. Subscription will auto renew annually.

US$ 199

This is the net price. Taxes to be calculated in checkout.


  1. 1.

    J.D. Lindl, Inertial Confinement Fusion: The Quest for Ignition and high Gain Using Indirect Drive (Springer, New York, 1998)

  2. 2.

    S. Atzeni, J. Meyer-ter-Vehn, The Physics of Inertial Fusion (Oxford Science Press, Oxford, 2004)

  3. 3.

    G.S. Fraley, E.J. Linnebur, R.J. Mason, R.L. Morse, Phys. Fluids 17, 474 (1974)

  4. 4.

    V. Brandon, B. Canaud, M. Temporal, R. Ramis, Laser Part. Beams 34, 539 (2016)

  5. 5.

    H.S. Bosch, G.M. Hale, Nucl. Fusion 32, 611 (1992)

  6. 6.

    T.E. Blue, D.B. Harris, Nucl. Sci. Eng. 77, 463 (1981)

  7. 7.

    T.E. Blue, J.W. Blue, J.S. Durham, D.B. Harris, A.S. Hnesh, J.J. Reyes, J. Appl. Phys. 54, 615 (1983)

  8. 8.

    H. Azechi, N. Miyanaga, R.O. Stapf, K. Itoga, H. Nakaishi, M. Yamanaka, H. Shiraga, R. Tsuji, S. Ido, K. Nishihara, Y. Izawa, T. Yamanaka, C. Yamanaka, Appl. Phys. Lett. 49, 55 (1986)

  9. 9.

    S. Kurebayashi, J.A. Frenje, F.H. Séguin, J.R. Rygg, C.K. Li, R.D. Petrasso, V.Yu. Glebov, J.A. Delettrez, T.C. Sangster, D.D. Meyerhofer, C. Stoeckl, J.M. Soures, P.A. Amendt, S.P. Hatchett, R.E. Turner, Phys. Plasmas 12, 032703 (2005)

  10. 10.

    P.F. Schmit, P.F. Knapp, S.B. Hansen, M.R. Gomez, K.D. Hahn, D.B. Sinars, K.J. Peterson, S.A. Slutz, A.B. Sefkow, T.J. Awe, E. Harding, C.A. Jennings, G.A. Chandler, G.W. Cooper, M.E. Cuneo, M. Geissel, A.J. Harvey-Thompson, M.C. Herrmann, M.H. Hess, O. Johns, D.C. Lamppa, M.R. Martin, R.D. McBride, J.L. Porter, G.K. Robertson, G.A. Rochau, D.C. Rovang, C.L. Ruiz, M.E. Savage, I.C. Smith, W.A. Stygar, R.A. Vesey, Phys. Rev. Lett. 113, 155004 (2014)

  11. 11.

    J.R. Davies, D.H. Barnak, R. Betti, E.M. Campbell, V.Yu. Glebov, E.C. Hansen, J.P. Knauer, J.L. Peebles, A.B. Sefkow, Phys. Plasmas 26, 022706 (2019)

  12. 12.

    H.G. Rinderknecht, M.J. Rosenberg, A.B. Zylstra, B. Lahmann, F.H. Séguin, J.A. Frenje, C.K. Li, M. Gatu Johnson, R.D. Petrasso, L.F. Berzak Hopkins, J.A. Caggiano, L. Divol, E.P. Hartouni, R. Hatarik, S.P. Hatchett, S. Le Pape, A.J. Mackinnon, J.M. McNaney, N.B. Meezan, M.J. Moran, P.A. Bradley, J.L. Kline, N.S. Krasheninnikova, G.A. Kyrala, T.J. Murphy, M.J. Schmitt, I.L. Tregillis, S.H. Batha, J.P. Knauer, J.D. Kilkenny, Phys. Plasmas 22, 082709 (2015)

  13. 13.

    H. Sio, J.A. Frenje, A. Le, S. Atzeni, T.J.T. Kwan, M. Gatu Johnson, G. Kagan, C. Stoeck, C.K. Li, C.E. Parker, C.J. Forrest, V. Glebov, N.V. Kabadi, A. Bose, H.G. Rinderknecht, P. Amendt, D.T. Casey, R. Mancini, W.T. Taitano, B. Keenan, A.N. Simakov, L. Chacón, S.P. Regan, T.C. Sangster, E.M. Campbell, F.H. Seguin, R.D. Petrasso, Phys. Rev. Lett. 122, 035001 (2019)

  14. 14.

    H. Sio, J.A. Frenje, J. Katz, C. Stoeckl, D. Weiner, M. Bedzyk, V. Glebov, C. Sorce, M. Gatu Johnson, H.G. Rinderknecht, A.B. Zylstra, T.C. Sangster, S.P. Regan, T. Kwan, A. Le, A.N. Simakov, W.T. Taitano, L. Chacòn, B. Keenan, R. Shah, G. Sutcliffe, R.D. Petrasso, Rev. Sci. Instrum. 87, 11D701 (2016)

  15. 15.

    M. Temporal, B. Canaud, W. Cayzac, R. Ramis, R.L. Singleton Jr., Eur. Phys. J. D 71 (2017).

  16. 16.

    C.K. Li, R.D. Petrasso, Phys. Rev. Lett. 70, 3059 (1993)

  17. 17.

    C.K. Li, R.D. Petrasso, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 199901 (2015)

  18. 18.

    J.A. Frenje, R. Florido, R. Mancini, T. Nagayama, P.E. Grabowski, H. Rinderknecht, H. Sio, A. Zylstra, M. Gatu Johnson, C.K. Li, F.H. Séguin, R.D. Petrasso, V.Yu Glebov, S.P. Regan, Phys. Rev. Lett. 122 (2019) 015002.

  19. 19.

    W. Cayzac, A. Frank, A. Ortner, V. Bagnoud, M.M. Basko, S. Bedacht, C. Blaser, A. Blazevic, S. Busold, O. Deppert, J. Ding, M. Ehret, P. Fiala, S. Frydrych, D.O. Gericke, L. Hallo, J. Helfrich, D. Jahn, E. Kjartansson, A. Knetsch, D. Kraus, G. Malka, N.W. Neumann, K. Pepitone, D. Pepler, S. Sander, G. Schaumann, T. Schlegel, N. Schroeter, D. Schumacher, M. Seibert, A. Tauschwitz, J. Vorberger, F. Wagner, S. Weih, Y. Zobus, M. Roth, Nat. Commun. 8, 15693 (2017)

  20. 20.

    S. Laffite, J.L. Bourgade, T. Caillaud, J.A. Delettrez, J.A. Frenje, F. Girard, V.Yu. Glebov, T. Joshi, O. Landoas, G. Legay, S. Lemaire, R.C. Mancini, F.J. Marshall, L. Masse, P.E. Masson-Laborde, D.T. Michel, F. Philippe, C. Reverdin, W. Seka, V. Tassin, Phys. Plasmas 23, 012706 (2016)

  21. 21.

    R. Ramis, R. Schmaltz, J. Meyer-ter-Vehn, Comput. Phys. Commun. 49 (1988) 475.

  22. 22.

    R. Ramis, J. Meyer-ter-Vehn, Comput. Phys. Commun. 203 (2016) 226.

  23. 23.

    L.J. Jr, Spitzer, Physics of Fully Ionized Plasmas (Wiley Interscience, New York, 1962)

Download references

Author information

Correspondence to Mauro Temporal.

Rights and permissions

Reprints and Permissions

About this article

Verify currency and authenticity via CrossMark

Cite this article

Temporal, M., Canaud, B. & Ramis, R. Time evolution of the fuel areal density and electronic temperature provided by secondary nuclear fusion reactions. Eur. Phys. J. D 73, 214 (2019).

Download citation


  • Plasma Physics