Zonal based approach for clustering in heterogeneous WSN

  • Pawan Singh Mehra
  • M. N. Doja
  • Bashir Alam
Original Research


Huge attention of the researchers is drawn by the wireless sensor network (WSN) due to its applicability in variety of applications. WSN has tiny size low powered device called sensors with an objective to monitor the area of interest. In many applications of WSN, it is impossible to modify the topology or to replace the battery based power supply of the sensor nodes. Hence elongation of network lifetime is required to meet the objective of setting up the network. In this paper, a zonal based clustering technique is proposed wherein the field is divided into zones. The selection of cluster head is dynamic so as to balance the load with even dissipation of power by the deployed Sensor Node. The proposed work is compared with DEEC, SEP, Z-SEP and LEACH protocol and simulation validates the protocol with elongated stability region and extended life time with more successful packet delivery to base station.


Clustering Wireless sensor network Cluster head Energy efficiency Lifetime Heterogeneity Stability period 


  1. 1.
    Akyildiz IF, Su W, Sankarasubramaniam Y, Cayirci E (2002) A survey on sensor networks. IEEE Commun Mag 40(8):102–114CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Parmar K, Jinwala DC (2016) Concealed data aggregation in wireless sensor networks: a comprehensive survey. Comput Netw 103:207–227CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Hill J, Szewczyk R, Woo A, Hollar S, Culler D, Pister K (2000) System architecture directions for networked sensors. In: Proceedings of the ninth international conference on Architectural support for programming languages and operating systems. ACM, pp. 93-104Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    Younis O, Krunz M, Ramasubramanian S (2006) Node clustering in wireless sensor networks: recent developments and deployment challenges. IEEE Netw 20(3):20–25CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    Lattanzi E, Regini E, Acquaviva A, Bogliolo A (2007) Energetic sustainability of routing algorithms for energy-harvesting wireless sensor networks. Comput Commun 30(14):2976–2986CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    Abbasi A, Younis AM (2007) A survey on clustering algorithms for wireless sensor networks”. Comput Commun 30(14):2826–2841CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Kuila P, Gupta SK, Jana PK (2013) A novel evolutionary approach for load balanced clustering problem for wireless sensor networks. Swarm Evolut Comput 12:48–56CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. 8.
    Low CP, Fang C, Ng JM, Ang YH (2008) Efficient load-balanced clustering algorithms for wireless sensor networks. Comput Commun 31(4):750–759CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. 9.
    Das S, Suganthan PN (2011) Differential evolution: a survey of the state-of-the-art. IEEE Trans Evol Comput 15(1):4–31CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    Heinzelman WB, Chandrakasan A, Balakrishnan PH (2002) An application-specific protocol architecture for wireless microsensor networks. IEEE Trans Wirel Commun 1(4):660–670CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    Lindsey S, Raghavendra C, Sivalingam KM (2002) Data gathering algorithms in sensor networks using energy metrics. IEEE Trans Parallel Distrib Syst 13(9):924–935CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    Smaragdakis G, Matta I, Bestavros A (2004) SEP: a stable election protocol for clustered heterogeneous wireless sensor networks. In: Proceedings of 2nd International Workshop on Sensor and Actor Network Protocols and Applications (SANPA’ 2004), pp. 1–11Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    Qing L, Zhu Q, Wang M (2006) Design of a distributed energy-efficient clustering algorithm for heterogeneous WSNs. Comput Commun 29(12):2230–2237CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. 14.
    Faisal S, Javaid N, Javaid A, Khan MA, Bouk SH, Khan ZA (2013) Z-SEP: zonal—stable election protocol for wireless sensor networks. J Basic Appl Sci Res 3(3):131–139Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    Zhou H, Wu Y, Hu Y, Xie G (2010) A novel stable selection and reliable transmission protocol for clustered heterogeneous wireless sensor networks. Comput Commun 33(15):1843–1849CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. 16.
    Zytoune O, Aboutajdine D, Tazi M (2010) Energy balanced clustering algorithm for routing in heterogeneous wireless sensor networks, 5th International Symposium On I/V Communications and Mobile Network, Rabat, pp. 1–4Google Scholar
  17. 17.
    Wen Y, Bein D, Phoha S (2014) Dynamic clustering of multi-modal sensor networks in urban scenarios. Inf Fusion 15:130–140CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. 18.
    Dulman S, Khalili A, Malazi HT, Zamanifar K (2012) DEC: diversity-based energy aware clustering for heterogeneous 53 sensor networks. Ad Hoc Sens Wirel Netw 17:53–72Google Scholar
  19. 19.
    Kumar D, Aseri TC, Patel RB (2009) EEHC: energy efficient heterogeneous clustered scheme for wireless sensor networks. Comput Commun 32(4):662–667CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. 20.
    Tarhani M, Kavian YS, Siavoshi S (2014) SEECH: scalable energy efficient clustering hierarchy protocol in wireless sensor networks. IEEE Sens J 14(11):3944–3954CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. 21.
    Sunitha GP, Dilip Kumar SM, Vijaya Kumar BP (2017) Energy balanced zone based routing protocol to mitigate congestion in wireless sensor networks. Wireless Pers Commun, pp 1–29Google Scholar
  22. 22.
    Jannu S, Jana PK (2016) A grid based clustering and routing algorithm for solving hot spot problem in wireless sensor networks. Wirel Netw 22(6):1901–1916CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  23. 23.
    Mann PS, Singh S (2017) Artificial bee colony metaheuristic for energy-efficient clustering and routing in wireless sensor networks. Soft Comput 21(22):6699–6712CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  24. 24.
    Thulasiraman P, White KA (2016) Topology control of tactical wireless sensor networks using energy efficient zone routing. Digit Commun Netw 2(1):1–14CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  25. 25.
    Chen Y-C, Wen C-Y (2013) Distributed clustering with directional antennas for wireless sensor networks. Sens J IEEE 13(6):2166–2180CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Bharati Vidyapeeth's Institute of Computer Applications and Management 2017
corrected publication 03/2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of Computer EngineeringFaculty of Engineering and TechnologyNew DelhiIndia

Personalised recommendations