Advertisement

Continental Philosophy Review

, Volume 42, Issue 2, pp 275–278 | Cite as

Alexandre Lefebvre, The image of law: Deleuze, Bergson, Spinoza

Stanford University Press, 2008, 305+xxii pages, ISBN-13: 9780804759854, $27.95 pbk
  • John Protevi
Article

This is a wonderfully interesting book for readers of the three philosophers named in its subtitle. I cannot say how it will strike specialists in philosophy of law, but I hope they will read it and comment on it in the appropriate venues. This review will thus hold itself to the first perspective, namely, the interest of the book for readers of Deleuze, Bergson and Spinoza.

The overall task of the book is two-fold: to criticize the “dogmatic image of law” and to develop a notion of legal judgment as necessarily creative. The notion of a “dogmatic image” is drawn from Chap. 3 of Deleuze’s Difference and Repetition, which develops a concept of the “dogmatic image of thought.” This key critical concept of Deleuze targets the unacknowledged presuppositions of thought in most of the Western philosophical tradition: thought is dogmatic when it dwells in the realm of opinion which sees recognition as the essence of thought. In other words, for many philosophers thought is what happens when...

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media B.V. 2009

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of French StudiesLouisiana State UniversityBaton RougeUSA

Personalised recommendations