Fabrication and performance estimation of dye sensitized solar cell based on CdSe/ZnO nano particles

  • B. Murali Babu
  • M. Shyamala
  • S. Saravanan
  • K. R. Kavitha
  • S. Vadivel


In this paper, the core cell CdSe/ZnO nanoparticles were synthesized by novel aqueous solution route. The as prepared samples were annealed at 450 °C for 30 min in ambient atmosphere to improve the structural perfection. A considerable blue shift and increase in the band gap was observed with the increase of Se content and quantum confinement effect. The TEM image reveals that the obtained CdSe/ZnO core shell nanomaterials are ranging from 20 to 50 nm in diameter. The prepared core shell nanomaterials are coated on the surface of mesoporous TiO2 layer deposited on FTO substrate using Dr. Blade method. The platinum electrodes are used as counter electrodes and iodine I3 as electrolyte and N3 as Dye. The photovoltaic characteristics, electrochemical impendence spectra for the DSSCs are investigated in terms of open circuit voltage, short circuit current, fill factors, solar cells efficiency and electron life time.


TiO2 Photocatalytic Activity Methylene Orange CaMoO4 Electron Lifetime 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.



The authors would like thank and acknowledge the research team of the Centre for Photonics and Nanotechnology, Sona College of Technology, Salem for their technical support and facility provided during the research work.


  1. 1.
    K.S. Ahn, S.J. Yoo, M.S. Kang, J.W. Lee, Y.E. Sung, J. Power Sources 168, 533–536 (2007)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    H. Zhou, W. Liqiong, Y. Gao, T. Ma, J. Photochem. Photobiol. 219, 18–19 (2011)Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    N. Gomesh, A.H. Ibrahim, R. Syafinar, M. Irwanto, M.R. Mamat, Y.M. Irwan, U. Hashim, N. Mariun, Int. J. Ser. Eng. Sci. 1(1), 49–56 (2015)Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    A. Kathalingam, J.-K. Rhee, S.-H. Han, Int. J. Energy Res. 38, 674–682 (2014)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    D. Soundararajan, J.K. Yoon, Int. J. Electrochem. Sci. 4, 1628–1637 (2009)Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Y. Mastai, R. Polsky, Yu. Koltypin, Eng. Math. 8(1), 75–79 (2014)Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    J. Singh, G. Singh Lotey, Dig. J. Nanomater. Biostruct. 6, 1733–1740 (2004)Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    S. Mahajan, M. Rani, R.B. Dubey, J. Mahajan, Int. J. Latest Res. Sci. Technol. 2, 457–459 (2013)Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    G.R. Amiri, M.H. Yousefi, M.R. Aboulhassani, M.H. Keshavarz, D. Shahbazi, S. Fatahian, M. Alahi, Dig. J. Nanomater. Biostruct. 5(3), 1025 (2010)Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    U. Ozgur, Y.I. Alivov, C. Liu, A. Teke, M. Reshchikov, S. Dogan, V. Avrutin, S.J. Cho, H. Morkoç, J. Appl. Phys. 98, 11 (2005)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. 11.
    S. Baskoutas, P. Giabouranis, S.N. Yannopoulos, V. Dracopoulos, L. Toth, A. Chrissanthopoulos, N. Bouropoulos, Thin Solid Films 515, 8461–8464 (2007)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. 12.
    A. Sobhani-Nasab, M. Behpour, J. Mater. Sci. 27 11946–11951 (2016)Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    S.M. Hosseinpour-Mashkani, A. Sobhani-Nasab, J. Mater. Sci. 27, 7548–7553 (2016)Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    S.S. Hosseinpour-Mashkani, S.S. Hosseinpour-Mashkani, A. Sobhani-Nasab, J. Mater. Sci. 27, 4351–4355 (2016)Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    S.M. Hosseinpour-Mashkani, M. Maddahfar, A. Sobhani-Nasab, J. Mater. Sci. 45, 3612–3620 (2016)Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    A.K. Singh, S.S. Multani, S.B. Patil, Indian J. Pure Appl. Phys. 49, 270–276 (2011)Google Scholar
  17. 17.
    N.A. Hamizi, M.R. Johan, Int. J. Electrochem. Sci. 7, 8473–8480 (2012)Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    O.S. Oluwafemi, Colloids Surf. B 73(2), 382–386 (2009)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. 19.
    B.P. Rakgalakane, M.J. Moloto, J. Nanomater. 2011, Article ID 514205 (2011)Google Scholar
  20. 20.
    G.V. Chalapathia, M. Thaiduna, D. Subramanyama, B.S. Rao, C. Balanarayanaa, B.R. Kumar, Chalcogenide Lett. 12(4), 181–190 (2015)Google Scholar
  21. 21.
    A. Acharya, R. Mishra, G.S. Roy, J. Phys. 3(3), 195–202 (2010)Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media New York 2017

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Department of Electrical and Electronics EngineeringPaavai Engineering CollegeNamakkalIndia
  2. 2.Centre for Photonics and NanotechnologySona College of TechnologySalemIndia
  3. 3.Department of PhysicsPaavai Engineering CollegeNamakkalIndia

Personalised recommendations