Skeletal Radiology

, Volume 47, Issue 5, pp 603–603 | Cite as

2017 Award Winning Papers


The International Skeletal Society (ISS) is pleased to announce the 2017 Editors award for the best paper in Skeletal Radiology on a new, novel or innovative technological application for the diagnosis, management or treatment of musculoskeletal disease.

The award of $1500 is intended for first author nonmembers of the ISS. The award is to be used as support for travel to and attendance at the annual meeting of the ISS, where the paper will be presented. The recipient of the award will be invited to attend the Members Scientific Session and Refresher Course of the ISS.

Editors Award Winning Manuscript:

In vitro chondrocyte toxicity following long-term, high-dose exposure to Gd-DTPA and a novel cartilage-targeted MR contrast agent.

Midura S, Schneider E, Rosen GM, Winalski CS, Midura RJ. Skeletal Radiol 2017; 46(1):23–33.

2017 Award Winning Papers

Corrine Farrell award

In 1989 this award was established as a result of an endowment by Dr. Corinne Farrell. Dr. Farrell was a Radiologist with a particular interest in bone tumors and was founding member of the society. This award is given to the best bone tumor paper presented at the annual meeting of the society and to the best paper on a tumor or tumor related topic published in Skeletal Radiology in the preceding year.

Corinne Farrell award winning journal paper:

Treatment of aneurysmal bone cysts by percutaneous CT-guided injection of calcitonin and steroid. Chang CY, Kattapuram SV, Huang AJ, Simeone FJ, Torriani M, Bredella MA. Skeletal Radiol 2017; 46(1):35–40.

Corinne Farrell award winning annual meeting case presentation:

Rogozhin DV, Moiseev SN, Kozlov AS, Kletskaya IS and Ektova AP: Case 45: Osteogenesis Imperfecta Type 5, Annual Meeting of the International Skeletal Society, New York, USA, 2017.

Alan Darby award

This prize was established by Alan’s widow, Lucienne, in 2005 and is awarded for the best case report published in Skeletal Radiology in the calendar year. Alan John Darby (1941–2004) was a Consultant histopathologist at the Robert Jones & Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital in Oswestry, Shropshire, UK, and subsequently the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore UK.

Alan Darby award winning manuscript:

Extraskeletal osteosarcoma arising in myositis ossificans: a case report and review of the literature.

Savant D, Kenan S, Kenan S, Kahn L. Skeletal Radiol 2017; 46(8):1155–1161.

Copyright information

© ISS 2018

Personalised recommendations