Acta Physica Hungarica

, 59:393 | Cite as

Electronic stopping power formula for energetic ions

  • G. Bárdos
  • G. M. Gavrilenko
Condensed Matter


Electronic stopping power has been calculated for H, He, Li, C, O, Mg and Si ion projectiles in Al, Ni, Ag and Au substrates. Ion energies range from 0.2 MeV/amu to 30 MeV/amu. The stopping power formular has been expressed as the sum of a modified Bethe formula and a modified Lindhard-Scharff-Schiøtt (LSS) formula. In both formulas effective charges have been applied, computed on the basis of the universal electronic density suggested by Gáspár.


Target Atom Electronic Charge Density Effective Atomic Number Semiempirical Calculation Average Charge State 
These keywords were added by machine and not by the authors. This process is experimental and the keywords may be updated as the learning algorithm improves.


  1. 1.
    G. Bardos, V. K. Fedyanin and G. M. Gavrilenko.—JINR E17-83-303, Dubna, 1983.Google Scholar
  2. 2.
    O. B. Firsov, Eksp. Theor. Fis.,36, 1517, 1959.Google Scholar
  3. 3.
    J. Lindhard, M. Scharff and H. E. Schiøtt. Mat.-Fys. Medd. Dan. Vid. Selsk.,33, No. 14, 1963.Google Scholar
  4. 4.
    H. Sugiyama, Rad. Eff.,56, 205, 1981.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    H. A. Bethe, Ann. Phys.,5, 325, 1930.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. 6.
    F. Bloch, Ann. Phys.,16, 285, 1930.Google Scholar
  7. 7.
    L. C. Northcliffe and R. F. Schilling, Nuclear Data Tables,7A, 3–4, 1970.Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    J. F. Zieger, Handbook of Stopping Cross Sections of Energetic Ions in All Elements, Vol. 5, Pergamon Press Inc. New York, 1980.Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    R. Gáspár, Acta Phys. Hung.,3, 263, 1954.MATHCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. 10.
    W. Brand, Atomic Collisions in Solids, Vol. 1, Plenum Press, New York, 1975.Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    J. Lindhard and M. Scharff, Mat.-Fys. Medd. Dan. Vid. Selsk.,27, No. 15, 1953.Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    J. M. Anthony and W. A. Landford, Phys. Rev.,A25, 1868, 1982.ADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© with the authors 1986

Authors and Affiliations

  • G. Bárdos
    • 1
  • G. M. Gavrilenko
    • 1
  1. 1.JINRLaboratory of Theoretical PhysicsDubnaUSSR

Personalised recommendations