, Volume 27, Issue 3, pp 409–412 | Cite as

Higher-order effects in large-angle coplanar symmetric (e, 2e) processes at high energies

  • K S Baliyan
  • M K Srivastava
Atomic Physics


The triple differential cross-sections for the ionization of atomic hydrogen by fast electrons are considered in the case of a coplanar symmetric energy-sharing geometry. They are estimated in the modified Glauber (MG) approximation. It is found that MG results are significantly different from those in the second Born approximation only for 90°⩽ϑ⩽110°. Outside this range they are almost identical.


Ionization of hydrogen triple differential cross-section coplanar symmetric energy-sharing large angle higher order contribution modified Glauber approximation 




Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Baliyan K S and Srivastava M K 1985Phys. Rev. A32 3098ADSGoogle Scholar
  2. Byron F W Jr and Joachain C J 1975J. Phys. B8 L284Google Scholar
  3. Byron F W Jr, Joachain C J and Piraux B 1980J. Phys. B13 L673Google Scholar
  4. Byron F W Jr, Joachain C J and Piraux B 1982J. Phys. B15 L293Google Scholar
  5. Byron F W Jr, Joachain C J and Piraux B 1983J. Phys. B16 L769Google Scholar
  6. Ehrhardt H, Schulz M, Tekaat T and Willmann K 1969Phys. Rev. Lett. 22 89CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. Ehrhardt H, Fischer M, Jung K, Byron F W Jr, Joachain C J and Piraux B 1982Phys. Rev. Lett. 48 1807CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  8. Gien T T 1976J. Phys. B9 3203ADSGoogle Scholar
  9. Gien T T 1979Phys. Rev. A20 1457ADSGoogle Scholar
  10. Lohmann B, McCarthy I E, Stelbovics A T and Weigold E 1984Phys. Rev. A30 758ADSGoogle Scholar
  11. McCarthy I E and Weigold E 1976Phys. Rep. 27 275CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  12. Pochat A, Tweed R J, Peresse J, Joachain C J, Piraux B and Byron F W Jr. 1983J. Phys. B16 L775Google Scholar
  13. Roy A C, Das A K and Sil N C 1981Phys. Rev. A23 1662ADSGoogle Scholar
  14. Yates A C 1974Chem. Phys. Lett. 25 480CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 1986

Authors and Affiliations

  • K S Baliyan
    • 1
  • M K Srivastava
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsUniversity of RoorkeeRoorkeeIndia

Personalised recommendations