, Volume 23, Issue 3, pp 423–432 | Cite as

Electron transport in Chevrel phase superconductors, Cu1.8Mo6S8−y Se y , 0⩽y⩽8 and Cu1.8Mo6S8−y Te y , 0⩽y⩽4—Fit to Cote-Meisel theory

  • V Sankaranarayanan
  • G Rangarajan
  • R Srinivasan
Solid State Physics


Normal state electrical resistivity of the Chevrel phase compounds of the type Cu1.8Mo6S8−y Se y , 0⩽y⩽8 and Cu1.8Mo6S8−y Te y , 0⩽y⩽4 is analysed on the basis of the generalized diffraction model which incorporates a postulate on electron-phonon interaction,viz phonons with wavelength exceeding the electron mean-free path are ineffective electron scatterers. Fit obtained by this model was found to be superior to other models based on the interbands-d scattering of electrons.


Chevrel phase superconductors electrical resistivity Cote-Meisel theory 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Baber W G 1937Proc. R. Soc. (London) A158 383ADSGoogle Scholar
  2. Cote P J and Meisel L V 1977Phys. Rev. Lett. 19 102CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  3. Cote P J and Meisel L V 1978Phys. Rev. Lett. 40 1586CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  4. Milewits M, Williamson S J and Taub H 1976Phys. Rev. B13 5199ADSGoogle Scholar
  5. Mooij J H 1972Phys. Status Solidi A17 521ADSGoogle Scholar
  6. Morohashi S, Noto K, Kobayashi N and Muto Y 1981Physica B108 929Google Scholar
  7. Morton N, James B W and Wostenholm G H 1978Cryogenics 18 131CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. Sankaranarayanan V, Rangarajan G and Srinivasan R 1984J. Phys. F14 691CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  9. Sankaranarayanan V, Rangarajan G, Srinivasan R, Umarji A M and Subba Rao G V 1982Cryogenics 22 305CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. Vasudeva Rao V 1983 Ph.D thesis Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, IndiaGoogle Scholar
  11. Woodard D W and Cody G D 1964RCA Rev. 25 293Google Scholar
  12. Ziman J M 1961Philos. Mag. 6 1013MATHCrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 1984

Authors and Affiliations

  • V Sankaranarayanan
    • 1
  • G Rangarajan
    • 1
  • R Srinivasan
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsIndian Institute of TechnologyMadrasIndia

Personalised recommendations