, Volume 23, Issue 2, pp 257–261 | Cite as

1/f noise and resistivity of spin glasses

  • Debashish Chowdhury
  • Abhijit Mookerjee
Statistical Physics


Electrical resistivityρ(T) of spin glasses within the framework of Mookerjee and Chowdhury’s percolation model where there is a distribution of relaxation times (drt) is calculated.ρ(T) thus calculated is in better qualitative agreement with experimental results than that in the single relaxation time model.


Electrical resistivity spin glasses percolation model 


75·40-s 72·15-v 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Anderson P W 1970Mat. Res. Bull. 5 549CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. Anderson P W 1978 inIll condensed matter (eds) R Balian, R Maynard and G Toulouse (North Holland)Google Scholar
  3. Campbell I A, Ford P J and Hamzic A 1982Phys. Rev. B26 5195ADSGoogle Scholar
  4. Chowdhury D 1983 Ph.D. Thesis, IIT, KanpurGoogle Scholar
  5. Chowdhury D and Mookerjee A 1983aJ. Phys. F13 L19Google Scholar
  6. Chowdhury D and Mookerjee A 1983bSolid State Commun. 48 887CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. Chowdhury D and Mookerjee A 1984Phys. Lett. A (in press)Google Scholar
  8. Fischer K H 1979Z. Phys. B34 45ADSGoogle Scholar
  9. Fischer K H 1981Z. Phys. B42 27CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  10. Ford P J and Mydosh J A 1976Phys. Rev. B14 2057ADSGoogle Scholar
  11. Hertz 1983aJ. Phys. C16 1219, 1233ADSGoogle Scholar
  12. Hertz J A 1983bnordita preprint, (see alsoPhys. Rev. Lett. 51 1880)Google Scholar
  13. Mackenzie N D and Young A P 1982Phys. Rev. Lett. 49 301CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  14. Mydosh 1983 inProc. Heidelberg colloq. on spin glasses (Berlin: Springer Verlag)Google Scholar
  15. Mookerjee A and Chowdhury D 1983J. Phys. F13 431CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  16. Ramakrishnan T V 1974Phys. Rev. B10 4014ADSGoogle Scholar
  17. Sommers H J 1983Z. Phys. B50 97CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. Sompolinsky H 1981Phys. Rev. Lett. 47 935CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  19. Tholence J L and Tournier R 1974J. Phys. 35 C4–229Google Scholar
  20. Wohlfarth E P 1977Physica B86–88 852Google Scholar
  21. Young A P and Stincheombe R B 1976J. Phys. C9 4419ADSGoogle Scholar
  22. Yoshida K 1957Phys. Rev. 107 396CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 1984

Authors and Affiliations

  • Debashish Chowdhury
    • 1
  • Abhijit Mookerjee
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsIndian Institute of TechnologyKanpurIndia

Personalised recommendations