, Volume 14, Issue 2, pp 149–158 | Cite as

Electric field dependence of the Curie temperature and microwave absorption in displacive ferroelectrics with impurities

  • U C Naithani
  • B S Semwal
Solid State Physics


The electric field dependence of the complex dielectric constant in an anharmonic defect ferroelectric crystal is calculated in its paraelectric phase from the Silverman-Joseph-Hamiltonian augmented with fourth-order phonon coordinates using double-time Green’s functions. The field and impurity dependence of the shift in the Curie temperature is discussed. An expression is obtained for the electric field dependence of dielectric loss at microwave frequencies in defect ferroelectrics.


Displacive ferroelectrics anharmonicity electric dipolemoment microwave absorption Curie temperature 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Barrett J H 1952Phys. Rev. 86 118CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  2. Bahadur R and Sharma P K 1975Phys. Rev. 12 448ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. Cochran W 1969Adv. Phys. 18 157CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  4. Gairola R P and Semwal B S 1977J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 42 975CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  5. Kanzig W and Maikoff N 1951Helv. Phys. Acta 24 343Google Scholar
  6. Naithani U C, Gairola R P and Semwal B S 1977J. Phys. Soc. Jpn. 43 204CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. Naithani U C and Semwal B S 1978Pramana 11 423ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. Rupprecht G and Bell R O 1962Phys. Rev. 125 1915CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  9. Rupprecht G, Bell R O and Silverman B D 1961Phys. Rev. 123 97CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  10. Silverman B D 1962Phys. Rev. 125 1921CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  11. Shirane G and Jona F 1962;Some aspects on ferroelectricity (London: Pergamon Press)Google Scholar
  12. Vinogradov V S 1963 inProc. Int. Conf. Lattice Dynamics, Copenhagen ed. R F Wallis (New York: Pergamon) p. 421Google Scholar
  13. Worlock J M and Fleury P A 1967Phys. Rev. lett. 19 1176CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 1980

Authors and Affiliations

  • U C Naithani
    • 1
  • B S Semwal
    • 1
  1. 1.Department of PhysicsGarhwal UniversitySrinagar

Personalised recommendations