, Volume 36, Issue 2, pp 231–241 | Cite as

An automated ac-magnetic susceptibility apparatus

  • A Chakravarti
  • R Ranganathan
  • A K Raychaudhuri


We report here both hardware and software for an ac susceptibility measurement system, namely the design and construction of the cryostat, coil system, sample rod assembly and also the automation of the sample rod movement, bridge control and nulling etc with the help of an inexpensive Z-80A microprocessor via a home-made IEEE-488 interface. The variable parameters are temperature, magnitude of the rms field and frequency. An entirely new dynamic bridge nulling algorithm with continuous sample movement, which eliminates to a large extent problems related to time-dependent drifts, has been developed. We also present some experimental data collected with this system.


AC susceptibility cryostat mutual inductance bridge automation microprocessor 


07.55 75.30 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Chakravarti A, Ranganathan R, Raychaudhuri A K and Bansal C 1990 (To be communicated)Google Scholar
  2. Chatterjee N, Mukherjee C D, Ranganathan R, Chakravarti A and Raychaudhuri A K 1989Physica C161 589ADSGoogle Scholar
  3. Corson M R 1982Rev. Sci. Instrum. 53 1606CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  4. Deutz A F, Hultsman R and Kranenberg F J 1989Rev. Sci. Instrum. 60 113CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  5. Martin D H 1967Magnetism in solids (Cambridge, Mass: MIT Press) p. 205Google Scholar
  6. Martin W E and Wieser J 1985J. Phys. E18 342ADSGoogle Scholar
  7. Maxwell E 1975Rev. Sci. Instrum 36 577Google Scholar
  8. Mulay L N and Mulay I L 1974Anna. Chem. 46 490RGoogle Scholar
  9. Ocio M and Hamman J 1985Rev. Sci. Instrum. 56 1367CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  10. Ramakrishnan S, Sundaram S, Pandit R S and Girish Chandra 1985J. Phys. E18 650ADSGoogle Scholar
  11. Ranganathan R and Rangarajan G 1982Pramana — J. Phys. 19 65ADSGoogle Scholar
  12. Ranganathan R, Tholence J L, Krishnan R and Dancygier M 1985J. Phys. C18 1057ADSGoogle Scholar
  13. Rosenbaum R 1968Rev. Sci. Instrum. 39 6CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. Rowley A T and Myers A 1987J. Phys. E20 146ADSGoogle Scholar
  15. Roy A, Scott B D, Ginsberg D M and Roach P R 1982Rev. Sci. Instrum. 53 1053CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  16. Thummes G, Kotzler J, Ranganathan R and Krishnan R 1988Z. Phys. B69 489CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. van de Klundert L J M, de Rooij C, Caspari M, and von der Marel L C 1975Cryogenics 15 577CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 1991

Authors and Affiliations

  • A Chakravarti
    • 1
  • R Ranganathan
    • 1
  • A K Raychaudhuri
    • 1
  1. 1.Saha Institute of Nuclear PhysicsCalcuttaIndia

Personalised recommendations