, Volume 63, Issue 3, pp 563–577 | Cite as

Electron cyclotron resonance heating in a short cylindrical plasma system

  • Vipin K. Yadav
  • D. Bora


Electron cyclotron resonance (ECR) plasma is produced and studied in a small cylindrical system. Microwave power is delivered by a CW magnetron at 2.45 GHz in TE10 mode and launched radially to have extraordinary (X) wave in plasma. The axial magnetic field required for ECR in the system is such that the first two ECR surfaces (B = 875.0 G andB = 437.5 G) reside in the system. ECR plasma is produced with hydrogen with typical plasma density ne as 3.2 × 1010 cm-3 and plasma temperature Te between 9 and 15 eV. Various cut-off and resonance positions are identified in the plasma system. ECR heating (ECRH) of the plasma is observed experimentally. This heating is because of the mode conversion of X-wave to electron Bernstein wave (EBW) at the upper hybrid resonance (UHR) layer. The power mode conversion efficiency is estimated to be 0.85 for this system. The experimental results are presented in this paper.


X-wave electron cyclotron resonance upper hybrid resonance 


52.35.Hr 52.50.Sw 52.70.Gw 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. [1]
    K Rypdal, A Fredriksen, O M Olsen and K G Hellblom,Phys. Plasmas 4, 1468 (1997)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    O C Eldridge and A C England,Nucl. Fusion 29, 1583 (1989)Google Scholar
  3. [3]
    Wallace M Manheimer, Infrared and millimeter waves, inInstrumentation (Academic Press, New York, 1979) vol. 2, p. 299Google Scholar
  4. [4]
    A C England,IEEE Trans. Plasma Sci. PS-12, 124 (1984)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    M Porkolab, L Friedland and I B Bernstein,Nucl. Fusion 21, 1643 (1981)Google Scholar
  6. [6]
    U Gasparino,Proc. Eighth Joint Workshop ECE and ECRH, IPP III/186,2, 19 (1993)Google Scholar
  7. [7]
    D Bora,Phys. Lett. A139, 308 (1989)ADSGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    P K Sharma, J P Singh and D Bora,Plasma Phys. Control. Fusion 39, 1669 (1997)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    O A Popov,J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A7, 894 (1989)ADSGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    O A Popov,J. Vac. Sci. Technol. A8, 2909 (1990)ADSGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    A Ganguli, M K Akhtar, R D Tarey and R K Jarwal,Phys. Lett. A250, 137 (1998)ADSGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    K S Golovanivsky,Phys. Rev. E52, 2969 (1995)ADSGoogle Scholar
  13. [13]
    H Potts and J Hugill,Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 9, 18 (2000)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    A Ganguli, M K Akhtar and R D Tarey,Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 8, 519 (1999)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    T H Stix,Waves in plasmas (American Institute of Physics, New York, 1992) p. 31Google Scholar
  16. [16]
    D G Swanson,Theory of mode conversion and tunneling in inhomogeneous plasmas (John Wiley and Sons, Inc., New York, 1998) p. 27Google Scholar
  17. [17]
    Francis F Chen, Introduction to plasma physics and controlled fusion, inPlasma Physics (Plenum Press, New York, 1984) vol. 127Google Scholar
  18. [18]
    K G Budden,The propagation of radio waves (Cambridge University Press, London, 1985) p. 596Google Scholar
  19. [19]
    A K Ram and S D Schultz,Phys. Plasmas 7, 4084 (2000)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  20. [20]
    Noah Hershkowitz, O Auciello and D L Flamm,Plasma diagnostics: Discharge parameters and chemistry (Academic Press Inc., San Diego, USA, 1989) vol. 1, p. 113Google Scholar
  21. [21]
    Von M J Druyvesteyn,Z. Phys. 64, 781 (1930)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  22. [22]
    V A Godyak, R B Piejak and B M Alexandrovich,Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 1, 36 (1992)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  23. [23]
    T Lagarde, Y Arnal, A Lacoste and J Pelletier,Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 10, 181 (2001)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  24. [24]
    Samuel Y Liao,Microwave devices and circuits (Prentice-Hall of India Pvt. Ltd, New Delhi, 2000) p. 116Google Scholar
  25. [25]
    H P Laqua, V Erckmann, H J Hartfuß and H Laqua, W7-AS Team and ECRH Group,Phys. Rev. Lett. 78, 3467 (1997)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  26. [26]
    H P Laqua, H J Hartfuß and W7-AS Team,Phys. Rev. Lett. 81, 2060 (1998)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  27. [27]
    I Langmuir,Phys. Rev. 36, 954 (1929)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  28. [28]
    Ashwani Kumar and R Bhaskaran,Rev. Sci. Instrum. 63, 4439 (1992)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  29. [29]
    R Bhaskaran and T Selvakumaran,Rev. Sci. Instrum. 70, 2637 (1999)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  30. [30]
    Vipin K Yadav and D Bora,Plasma Sources Sci. Technol. 13, 231 (2004)CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  31. [31]
    I H Hutchinson and A H Morton,Nucl. Fusion 16, 447 (1976)ADSGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 2004

Authors and Affiliations

  • Vipin K. Yadav
    • 1
  • D. Bora
    • 1
  1. 1.Institute for Plasma ResearchGandhinagarIndia

Personalised recommendations