Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy

, Volume 14, Issue 2, pp 103–114 | Cite as

Plasma instability at the inner edge of the accretion disk—I

  • S. C. Tripathy
  • C. B. Dwivedi
  • A. C. Das
  • A. R. Prasanna


In this paper, the analytical and numerical results of the stability analysis of the accretion disk at the inner boundary is presented. Including the effect of finite conductivity in the disk dynamics, a simple calculation considering only the radial perturbation has been carried out. Within local approximation, it is concluded that the disk is stable to Kelvin-Helmholtz and resistive electromagnetic modes whereas the magnetosonic mode can destabilise the disk structure.

Key words

Accretion disks hydromagnetics instability 


Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.

Unable to display preview. Download preview PDF.


  1. Anzer, U., Börner, G. 1980,Astr. Astrophys.,83, 183.Google Scholar
  2. Anzer, U., Börner, G. 1983,Astr. Astrophys.,122, 73.MATHADSGoogle Scholar
  3. Chandrasekhar, S. 1961,Hydrodynamic and Hydromagnetic Stability, (Oxford University Press, London).MATHGoogle Scholar
  4. Choudhury, S. R., Lovelace, R. V. E. 1986,Astrophys. J.,302, 188.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  5. Corbelli, E., Torricelli-Ciamponi, G. 1990,Phys. Fluids, B,2, 828.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  6. Ghosh, P., Lamb, F. K. 1978,Astrophys. J. Lett,223, L83.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  7. Press, W. H., Flannery, B. P., Teukolsky, S. A., Vetterling, W. T. 1988,Numerical Recipes: The art of scientific computing, (Cambridge University Press, New York).MATHGoogle Scholar
  8. Pietrini, P., Torricelli-Ciamponi, G. 1989,Phys. Fluids B,1, 923.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  9. Prasanna, A. R. 1991,Pramana—J. Phys.,36, 445.ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. Scharlemann, E. T. 1978,Astrophys. J.,219, 617.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  11. Shields, G. A., Wheeler, J. C. 1976,Astrophys. J.,17, 69.Google Scholar
  12. Taam, R. E., van den Heuvel, E. P. J. 1986,Astrophys. J.,305, 235.CrossRefADSGoogle Scholar
  13. Tripathy, S. C., Prasanna, A. R., Das A. C. 1990,Mon. Not. R. astr. Soc.,246, 384, (paper I).MATHADSGoogle Scholar
  14. Wiita, P. J. 1985,Phys. Reports,219, 617.Google Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Academy of Sciences 1993

Authors and Affiliations

  • S. C. Tripathy
    • 1
  • C. B. Dwivedi
    • 2
  • A. C. Das
    • 3
  • A. R. Prasanna
    • 3
  1. 1.Udaipur Solar ObservatoryUdaipur
  2. 2.Institute for Plasma ResearchGandhinagar
  3. 3.Physical Research LaboratoryAhmedabad

Personalised recommendations