2019 Colorado Alphaherpesvirus Latency Society symposium

  • Colleen Amanda Mangold
  • Esteban A. Engel
  • Jeffery B. OstlerJr.
  • Angus C. Wilson
  • Randall J. CohrsEmail author
Meeting Report


Meeting Report on the 9th Annual Symposium of the Colorado Alphaherpesvirus Latency Society (CALS) held on May 8–11, 2019, in Vail, CO.


Alphaherpesvirus Herpes simplex virus Varicella zoster virus Prion biology Latency Reactivation Pathogenesis 



We especially thank The Christiania Lodge and The Tivoli Lodge at Vail for their generosity and warm hospitality.

Funding information

Funding for this conference was provided, in part, by generous donations from Colorado Mountain Express, FedEx (store #2004), Harvard Bioscience, Integrated DNA Technologies, Rocky Mountain SIMS, Thermo Fisher Scientific, a private donation from The VZV Foundation, and personal contributions from Randall Cohrs, Seth Frietze, Don Gilden, Robert Kalejta, Caroline Kulesza, Todd Margolis, and Tejabhiram Yadavalli.

The Don Gilden Memorial Lectureship was supported through generous donations from Ann Arvin, Nicholas Baird, Marius Birlea, John Blaho, David Bloom, Edouard Cantin, Donald Coen, Elisabeth Cohen, Randall Cohrs, Leonardo D’Aiuto, Stacey Efstathiou, Lynn Enquist, Seth Frietze, Anne and Mike Gershon, Raphael Harpaz, Victor Hsia, Thomas Kristie, Todd Margolis, Satish Mehta, Ian Mohr, Duane Pierson, Rozanne Sandri-Goldin, Nancy Sawtell, Luis Schang, Scott Schmid, Deepak Shukla, Padma Srikanth, Vaibhav Tiwari, Abel Viejo-Borbolla, and Hua Zhu.

Funding for this conference was also provided, in part, by Public Health Service grant R13AG046051 from the National Institute on Aging, National Institutes of Health.

Compliance with ethical standards

Conflict of interest

The authors declare that they have no competing interests.


The views expressed in written conference materials or publications and by speakers and moderators do not necessarily reflect the official policies of the Department of Health and Human Services, nor does mention of trade names, commercial practices, or organizations imply endorsement by the US Government.

Copyright information

© Journal of NeuroVirology, Inc. 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  • Colleen Amanda Mangold
    • 1
  • Esteban A. Engel
    • 2
  • Jeffery B. OstlerJr.
    • 3
  • Angus C. Wilson
    • 4
  • Randall J. Cohrs
    • 5
    • 6
    Email author
  1. 1.Department of Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyPennsylvania State UniversityUniversity ParkUSA
  2. 2.Princeton Neuroscience InstitutePrinceton UniversityPrincetonUSA
  3. 3.Department of Veterinary PathobiologyOklahoma State University Center for Veterinary Health SciencesStillwaterUSA
  4. 4.Department of MicrobiologyNew York University School of MedicineNew YorkUSA
  5. 5.Department of NeurologyUniversity of Colorado School of MedicineAuroraUSA
  6. 6.Department of Immunology and MicrobiologyUniversity of Colorado School of MedicineAuroraUSA

Personalised recommendations