Nanosecond pulses generation with rose gold nanoparticles saturable absorber

  • A. H. A. Rosol
  • A. A. Latiff
  • M. I. M. Abdul Khudus
  • S. W. HarunEmail author
Original Paper


We demonstrate a mode-locked nanosecond erbium-doped fiber laser using gold nanoparticles saturable absorber. The gold nanoparticles were obtained through sodium borohydrate reduction method and made into a film structure by embedding into poly (vinyl alcohol). The laser directly produces nanosecond pulses with stable mode locking at a pump threshold of 157 mW. Resultant output pulses have central wavelength, pulse duration and repetition rate of 1561 nm, 436 ns and 1 MHz, respectively. The average output power was measured to be 6.94 mW under the pump power of 245 mW, corresponding to single pulse energy of 6.8 nJ. The experimental results show that gold nanoparticles are a promising material for ultrafast laser systems.


Fiber lasers Nanosecond pulses Gold nanoparticles 


42.55.Wd 42.60.Gd 42.70.Nq 



This research has financially support by University of Malaya (Grant No. BK084-2017) and Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (Grant No. PJP/2018/FKEKK(1B)/S01613).


  1. [1]
    D Dornfeld, S Min, and Y Takeuchi CIRP Ann. Manuf. Technol. 55 745 (2006)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. [2]
    J Clowes Optik Photonik 3 36 (2008)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. [3]
    L Luo, P Chu, and H Liu IEEE Photon. Technol. Lett. 12 269 (2000)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. [4]
    P T Teng, F Y Chang, and Y T Chang Adv. Mater. Res. 12 209 (2014)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. [5]
    D Mao, X M Liu, L R Wang, X H Hu, and X H Lu Laser Phys. Lett. 8 134 (2010)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  6. [6]
    X Feng, H Tam, and P Wai Opt. Exp. 14 8205 (2006)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. [7]
    L Chen, M Zhang, C Zhou, Y Cai, L Ren, and Z Zhang Electron. Lett. 45 731 (2009)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  8. [8]
    Q Bao, H Zhang, Y Wang, Z Ni, Y Yan, Z X Shen, K P Loh, and D Y Tang Adv. Funct. Mater. 19 3077 (2009)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  9. [9]
    M B Hisyam, M F Rusdi, A A Latiff, and S W Harun IEEE J. Sel. Top. Quantum Electron. 23 39 (2016)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  10. [10]
    P Yan, R Lin, S Ruan, A Liu, and H Chen Sci. Rep. 5 8690 (2015)CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  11. [11]
    J Xu, S Wu, J Liu, Q Wang, Q H Yang, and P Wang Opt. Commun. 285 4466 (2012)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  12. [12]
    I A M Alani, B A Ahmad, M H M Ahmed, A A Latiff, A H H Al-Masoodi, M Q Lokman, and S W Harun Indian J. Phys. 93 93 (2019)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  13. [13]
    J Ren, S Wang, Z Cheng, H Yu, H Zhang, Y Chen, L Mei, and P Wang Opt. Exp. 23 5607 (2015)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  14. [14]
    Z Kang, Y Xu, L Zhang, Z Jia, L Liu, D Zhao, Y Feng, G Qin, and W Qin Appl. Phys. Lett. 103 041105 (2013)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  15. [15]
    T Jiang, Y Xu, Q Tian, L Liu, Z Kang, R Yang, G Qin, and W Qin Appl. Phys. Lett. 101 151122 (2012)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  16. [16]
    Z Kang, X Guo, Z Jia, Y Xu, L Liu, D Zhao, G Qin, and W Qin Opt. Mater. Exp. 3 1986 (2013)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  17. [17]
    H B Liao, R F Xiao, J S Fu, P Yu, G K L Wong, and P Sheng Appl. Phys. Lett. 70 1 (1997)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  18. [18]
    K H Kim, A Husakou, and J Herrmann Opt. Exp. 18 7488 (2010)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  19. [19]
    H Baida, D Mongin, D Christofilos, G Bachelier, A Crut, P Maioli, N D Fatti, and F Vallée Phys. Rev. Lett. 107 057402 (2011)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  20. [20]
    U Gurudas, E Brooks, D M Bubb, S Heiroth, T Lippert, and A Wokaun J. Appl. Phys. 104 073107 (2008)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  21. [21]
    A R Muhammad, M T Ahmad, R Zakaria,, H R A Rahim, S F A Z Yusoff, K S Hamdan, H Arof, and S W Harun Chin. Phys. Lett. 34 034205 (2017)ADSCrossRefGoogle Scholar
  22. [22]
    M T Ahmad, A R Muhammad, R Zakaria, H R A Rahim, K S Hamdan, H H M Yusof, H Arof, and S W Harun Laser Phys. 27 11 (2017)Google Scholar
  23. [23]
    Q Bao, H Zhang, Z Ni, Y Wang, L Polavarapu, Z Shen, Q H Xu, D Tang, and K P Loh Nano Res. 4 297 (2011)CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science 2019

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Photonics Engineering Laboratory, Department of Electrical EngineeringUniversity of MalayaKuala LumpurMalaysia
  2. 2.Faculty of Electronic and Computer EngineeringUniversiti Teknikal Malaysia MelakaMelakaMalaysia
  3. 3.Department of Physics, Faculty of ScienceUniversity of MalayaKuala LumpurMalaysia
  4. 4.Department of Physics, Faculty of ScienceAirlangga UniversitySurabayaIndonesia

Personalised recommendations