Wireless Personal Communications

, Volume 104, Issue 2, pp 561–575 | Cite as

Dual Cluster Head Routing Protocol with Super Node in WSN

  • Yasha IstwalEmail author
  • Shashi Kant Verma


This paper introduces dual cluster head routing protocol with super node (DCHRP4) having dual cluster head with four level of heterogeneity to improve the lifetime of a wireless sensor network. The main objective is to reduce the number of selection of cluster head so that the energy consumption can be minimized. In a clustering based sensor network cluster head does all the work from collecting to transmitting data to sink. Therefore, Cluster head loses its energy very fast. Energy plays an important role in efficient management of sensor network. Due to the handling of multiple tasks, energy of a cluster head is lost very fast. So, the paper focuses on reduces the energy consumption, improving the stability, the lifetime of the network, and throughput. From the simulation performed it is observed that the stability period of DCHRP4 upgrade 56.11% over enhanced threshold sensitive stable election protocol (ETSSEP) and twice and more than thrice over threshold sensitive stable election protocol (TSEP) and stable election protocol (SEP) respectively. The overall lifetime of DCHRP4 also upgrade by 8.29% and 49.22% over ETSSEP and TSEP respectively whereas about thrice in comparison with SEP. The throughput improved by 7.75% over ETSSEP, twice over TSEP and SEP respectively.


Dual cluster heads Resource management Routing protocol Super node Wireless sensor network 



  1. 1.
    Al-Karaki, J. N., & Kamal, A. E. (2004). Routing techniques in wireless sensor networks: A survey. IEEE Wireless Communication, 11(6), 6–28.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  2. 2.
    Kharazian, A. A., Jamshidi, K., & Khayyambashi, M. R. (2012). Adaptive clustering in wireless sensor network: Considering nodes with lowest energy. International Journal of Ad Hoc, Sensor & Ubiquitous Computing (IJASUC), 3(2), 1.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  3. 3.
    Kuila, P., & Jana, P. K. (2014). A novel differential evolution based clustering algorithm for wireless sensor networks. Applied Soft Computing, 25, 414–425.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  4. 4.
    Kumar, D., Aseri, T. C., & Patel, R. B. (2009). EEHC: Energy efficient heterogeneous clustered scheme for wireless sensor networks. Computer Communications, 32(4), 662–667.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  5. 5.
    Bandyopadhyay, S., & Coyle, E. J. (2003). An energy efficient hierarchical clustering algorithm for wireless sensor networks. In Proceedings of twenty second annual joint conference of the IEEE computer and communication INFOCOM. Google Scholar
  6. 6.
    Afsar, M. M., Mohammad, H., & Tayarani, N. (2014). Clustering in sensor networks: A literature survey. Journal of Network and Computer Applications, 46, 198–226.CrossRefGoogle Scholar
  7. 7.
    Heinzelman, W. R., Chandrakasan, A., & Balakrishnan, H. (2000). Energy efficient communication protocol for wireless micro-sensor networks. In Proceedings of the Hawaii international conference on system sciences (pp. 4–7).Google Scholar
  8. 8.
    Shepard, T. J. (1996). A channel access scheme for large dense packet radio networks. In Proceedings of ACM SIGCOMM (pp. 219–230).Google Scholar
  9. 9.
    Qureshi, T. N., Javaid, N., Khan, A. H., Iqbal, A., Akhtar, E., & Ishfaq, M. (2013). BEENISH: Balanced energy efficient network integrated super heterogeneous protocol for wireless sensor networks. In Proceeding of 4th international conference on ambient systems, networks and technologies (ANT 2013) (Vol. 19, pp. 920–925).Google Scholar
  10. 10.
    Smaragdakis, G., Matta, I., & Bestavros, A. (2004). SEP: A stable election protocol for clustered heterogeneous wireless sensor networks. In Second international workshop on sensor and actor network protocols and applications (SANPA 2004), Boston, MA. Google Scholar
  11. 11.
    Kaur, H., Jain, P., & Prabhakar, G. (2016). An advance Form of Stable Election multihop routing protocols using gateways in wireless sensor networks. In Proceeding of 2016 international conference on computation of power, energy information and communication (ICCPEIC). Google Scholar
  12. 12.
    Islam, M. M., & Matin, T. K. (2012). Extended stable election protocol (SEP) for three-level hierarchical clustered heterogeneous WSN. In IET conference on wireless sensor systems (WSS 2012) (pp. 1–4).Google Scholar
  13. 13.
    Qureshi, T. N., Javaid, N., Malik, M., Qasim, U., & Khan, Z. A. (2012). On performance evaluation of variants of DEEC in WSNs. In Seventh international conference on broadband, wireless computing, communication and applications (BWCCA) (Vol. 12, No. 14, pp. 162–169).Google Scholar
  14. 14.
    Saini, P., & Sharma, A. K. (2010). E-DEEC: Enhanced distributed energy efficient clustering scheme for heterogeneous WSN. In 2010 1st international conference on parallel, distributed and grid computing (PDGC-2010). Google Scholar
  15. 15.
    Haibo, Z., Yuanming, W. & Guanzhong, X. (2009), EDFM: A stable election protocol based on energy dissipation forecast method for clustered heterogeneous wireless sensor networks. In Proceedings of IEEE international conference on wireless communication, networking and mobile computing (WCNMC) (pp. 1–4).Google Scholar
  16. 16.
    Manjeshwar, A., & Agarwal, D. P. (2001). TEEN: A routing protocol for enhanced efficiency in wireless sensor networks. In 1st international workshop on parallel and distributed computing issues in wireless networks and mobile computing. Google Scholar
  17. 17.
    Kashaf, A., Javaid, N., Khan, Z. A., & Khan, I. A. (2012). TSEP: Threshold-sensitive stable election protocol for WSNs. In 10th international conference on frontiers of information technology (FIT) (Vol. 164, No. 168, pp. 17–19).Google Scholar
  18. 18.
    Kumar, S., Verma, S. K., & Kumar, A. (2015). ETSSEP: Enhanced threshold sensitive stable election protocol. Wireless Personal Communication, 85, 2643–2656.CrossRefGoogle Scholar

Copyright information

© Springer Science+Business Media, LLC, part of Springer Nature 2018

Authors and Affiliations

  1. 1.Govind Ballabh Pant Engineering CollegePauri GarhwalIndia

Personalised recommendations